The Game of Syria

I had been debating whether to post on the lack of participation in the March on Washington by Republican leadership last week.  That whole thing has left me with a lot of questions.  But it seems the new game of Syria has distracted me from a cause I wish I didn’t have to take up.

The first round of the game is the reaction of the world to President Obama’s decision to withhold action and defer to Congress for backing.  From the people who have tried to taunt the United States by calling it a cowardly move, to the John McCains who are now claiming that Obama did not need to ask for permission to make a move.

Am I the only one who thinks McCain would have been the first person in line to have the President impeached for putting the US in a war without asking Congress?  Sometimes it’s not the racism that bothers me as much as the feeling that all of these guys and gals on The Hill think that all of the American people that voted them into office must be stupid.  Maybe we were stupid for voting for them, but we’re not too stupid to see the games they play, and with other peoples lives at that.

The lives of the Syrian people are at stake.  The lives of our women and men of the armed forces are also going to be at stake shortly, and we’re still catching our breath from the last 12 years of straight war.  But it’s all a polictical game to some people.  A President who has to delay action just to cover his ass and a Senator that has to find a fault with a man covering his ass.

That is in my definition, a game, and with Russia, China, and Iran not wanting us in there, this thing could be getting bigger before it gets smaller.  Like a giant penis with a bunch of little penises running around trying to control it.

I’m not sure what to make of this game because I don’t see that a winner is possible in this one.  I am on edge because I do think that there should be serious consequences to using chemical weapons on anyone, much less citizens of your own country.  I empathize with people that disagree, but if you’ve ever seen what that stuff does up close and not on video or better yet, had the stuff used on you; I suspect you would be feeling about as prickly as I’m feeling right now.  And if you don’t want to find out, then we have to do this.

For all my buddies out there in the Architectural field, check out this article on Yahoo! from our friends in the UK.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.