Keep Asking

I am curious today.  Not that I am surprised at the outcome.  I am becoming surprised at the reaction.  “No peace, no justice. No justice, no peace!”

Fine.  There is still no justice.  Why is there still peace?  When?!  When are we going to decide that we are going to protect our own children?  The justice system is not going to do it.  I think that’s been proven over a much longer history than just the two Florida cases that we have recently observed.  I have posted on this blog before, my observation of what a young black life is worth in this country.  How much more proof do we need?  How many more children will we bury before we decide that this is not acceptable?

Blacks have been asking for decades to be considered human beings.  We have continually accepted breadcrumbs and symbolic gestures, and continue to observe no real changes.  We bury child after child after child, and we observe no real changes.  We elect a black President.  And still, no real changes!  In fact, in my own humble opinion, it has gotten worse since that time.  Try and vote in Texas without your gun permit.  Try and use your student ID.  And yet we keep asking.  Nicely.

I ask again.  How many more children will we bury before we decide that this is unacceptable?  You say it’s already unacceptable, but are you ready to do something about it?  By any means necessary?  Do you have a limit?  What is it?  Are you aware of how the Irish gained respect in this country?  Would you be willing to go that far?

I have some strong feeling about all of this.  Obviously.  But I’m going to stop here.  I want you; the people, to think about it for a while and we can revisit our options.  While you are thinking about it, ask yourself this.  If I had fired my weapon 10 times into a vehicle full of unarmed but tough talking white kids in a claim of self-defense; would I have gotten off as easily as Mr. Dunn last week?

Ask yourself.

Love you guys,

Toby

Leave a Reply

