No Unicorn

What the heck is up with Fox Sports and NASCAR?!  Yeah… I like NASCAR.  But I’m no Unicorn.  There are lots of black folks that like NASCAR.  It’s just not socially acceptable to admit that in some circles.  I don’t know why.  There’s more fun in watching cars turn left than one might think.  And the NASCAR family is one of the most receptive and caring groups of sports fans that I’ve ever had the pleasure of being a part of.

However, there was a recent change to things when Fox apparently took over the Speed Channel or absorbed it, I’m not sure.  Since then, The Speed Channel has turned into Fox Sports One and there is nothing Speed related to be found.  All of the races have been moved to ESPN where they take a back seat to anything else that comes on.  Preempted by College Football, Soccer, or whatever happens to come on first.

It hasn’t been this bad since the 70’s and 80’s.  Every once in a while you could catch something on ABC, if there was nothing else on.  As much as I loved NASCAR, I resigned myself to not worrying about watching it because I could not count on finding it on TV anywhere.  If I stumbled across it, that would be a good day for me.  If I didn’t, I never noticed.

The same goes for Formula One.  Back in the day, that was even worse.  I had an easier time finding a Cricket match on an American television.  Indycar was a little more popular, and I could often find a race on Sunday to enjoy with that, but all other forms of Motorsports were out of the question.  Trans AM, now Grand Am for the most part, The LeMans Series was out of the question.  I had to listen to the last race of the season on MRN yesterday!  Old time radio on my computer anyone?!  You have got to be kidding me?

The Australian V8 Supercars Series was another one.  Think NASCAR, but all road courses.  It’s awesome stuff.  Now they even race here once a year down in Austin at the Circuit of the Americas, along with Formula One, and the Superbikes.  Racing has taken off in this country finally, and what does Fox do?  Relegate it to second chair.  Thanks Fox.  A constant reminder of why I can’t stand you.

Yes, you’ve given me Family Guy, American Dad, The Simpsons, Bob’s Burgers, Cops, and for those who loved it, Glee.  But placing NASCAR second during the Chase for the Sprint Cup is just wholly unacceptable.  The Speed Channel was the one place I could always find something that would  keep my interest for a while.  Short of the Weather Channel.  Now what?  I guess I have to buy controlling interest in your company?  I’m working on it.

Leave a Reply

